New Executives – FTAN

ABUJA, NIGERIA – The Federation of Tourism Associations of Nigeria (FTAN), established in 1997 with a view to having an easy liaison with the organized private sector in the Tourism and Culture sector in Nigeria, recently had a change in its leadership.

The National Executive Council (NEC) is the primary administrative arm of FTAN operational structure, with members elected to serve for a period of two years, in the first instance; and are eligible to serve for additional two years, if re-elected. The National Executive Council members are nominated for election from the 23 FTAN member associations.

As the umbrella body for Nigeria’s organized private sector operators in Tourism, FTAN has since its inception actively supported investment tools that facilitate tourist infrastructure and destination promotion policies.

At its just concluded 24th annual general meeting (AGM), held at the Rockview Hotel Royale, Abuja, an election also took place.

Members of the Federation unanimously elected Mr. Nkereuwem Onung as the new National President of the association for the next two years. Onung, who was the Deputy President until April when he assumed the leadership of FTAN after the death of the President, Alhaji Saleh Rabo, also noted that a befitting tribute would be paid to Rabo, a renowned tourism operator, who served as FTAN president from July 2017 to April 16, 2021. He said: “Rabo’s death was a great loss to FTAN and Nigerian tourism.”

Other officials elected at the AGM include: Alhaji Yunusa Mohammed – VP FCT, Kolade Tunde Julius – VP South West, Comm. Okon Emmanuel- Internal Auditor, Hon Saheed Lawal- Membership officer.

Candidates for other positions were returned unopposed.